Hawai’i Island


Note: If a location you would like to shoot at is not on this list, please contact the Big Island Film Office or Hawaii Film Office. Some locations are open and accessible but also have special conditions/restrictions, e.g. Anaehoomalu Beach.

Akaka Falls State Park
Anaehoomalu Beach – (Fishpond & portions of beach belong to Waikoloa Land Co.)*
Coconut Island (County) Beach Park (AKA Mokuola)*
Harry Brown (County) Beach Park*
Hilo Bayfront Park*
Honolii Beach Park *
Hookena (County) Beach Park*
Isaac Hale (County) Beach Park*
James Kealoha (County) Beach Park*
Kahaluu (County) Beach Park*
Kalopa State Recreation Area
Kaunaoa Beach
Keokea (County) Beach Park*
Lapakahi State Historical Park (Park gate opens 8am – 4pm daily, except on state holidays)
Laupahoehoe (County) Beach Park*
Lava Tree State Monument
Lehia Park (Hilo, near Richardson Ocean Center) *
Leleiwi (County) Beach Park*
MacKenzie State Recreation Area (Beach)
Manuka State Wayside Park
Milolii (County) Beach Park/Village*
Mokuola (AKA Coconut Island) (County) Beach Park*
Ninole (Kau Black Sand Beach Area)
Old Kona Airport Recreation Area* (park gate closes at 8pm)
Peepee Falls
Rainbow Falls (AKA Wailuku River State Park)
Richardson’s (County) Beach Park*
Sea Mountain Resort Beach Area
Spencer’s (County) Beach Park*
Wailoa River State Recreation Area
Wailuku River State Park (AKA Rainbow Falls)
Whittington (County) Beach Park*

*Also requires County permit or approval from owner(s); state jurisdiction up to high-water mark/vegetation line.