INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete the information below, have an authorized individual sign the form to acknowledge receipt of this Tax Advisory, and return either via mail, e-mail, or fax to the accounting or production office.

Vendor / Employee Name:

Hawaii GET Number (if applicable):

Signed Acknowledgement of Receipt by Vendor / Employee:

Name of Authorized Signer: Date:

JOSH GREEN, M.D. GOVERNOR

> SYLVIA LUKE LT. GOVERNOR



STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION Ka 'Oihana 'Auhau P.O. BOX 259 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96809 PHONE NO: (808) 587-1530 FAX NO: (808) 587-1584

GARY S. SUGANUMA DIRECTOR OF TAXATION

KRISTEN M.R. SAKAMOTO DEPUTY DIRECTOR

December 23, 2022

HAWAII TAX ADVISORY

TAX OBLIGATIONS OF PERSONS WORKING IN THE MOTION PICTURE, **TELEVISION, AND FILM PRODUCTION INDUSTRY**

The purpose of this Tax Advisory is to provide notice of tax obligations to persons engaged in the motion picture and television film production industry in Hawaii. Any taxpayer claiming the motion picture, digital media, and film production tax credit must provide this advisory to all persons who are involved in their productions, including actors, directors, writers, producers, crew members, and others who conduct activities in Hawaii as an employee, vendor, independent contractor, or loan-out company if they do not have an active general excise tax license.¹

GENERAL EXCISE TAX OBLIGATIONS

Hawaii levies a gross receipts tax called the general excise tax (GET) on the gross income of any taxpayer who is engaged in business in Hawaii. Generally, GET is imposed at a rate of 4% of all gross proceeds or gross income received from being engaged in business in Hawaii. In addition to the 4% rate, in the City and County of Honolulu, Kauai County, and Hawaii County a GET county surcharge of 0.5% applies.

A taxpayer that has a physical presence in Hawaii is engaged in business in Hawaii regardless of economic nexus.² The sale of goods (tangible property) is sourced to Hawaii and subject to GET if the property is delivered to a destination in Hawaii.³ The sale of intangible property is sourced to Hawaii if the intangible property is used in Hawaii.⁴ Services are sourced to Hawaii and subject to GET if the service is used and consumed in Hawaii.⁵

Please note that Hawaii law requires taxpayers to register for a GET license **prior to engaging in business** in Hawaii. A \$500 fine will be imposed on any non-cash-based business that receives income from engaging in business in Hawaii prior to registering for a GET license.⁶

<u>1099 Independent Contractors and Loan-Out Companies</u>: Services or other business activities performed for a production company in Hawaii are subject to the GET.

- 4 §237-29.57, HRS.
- 5 §237-29.53, HRS. §§18-237-29.53-01 to 13, HAR.
- 6 §237-9(c), HRS.

^{1 §18-235-17-18,} Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR).

² Tax Announcement No. 2018-10.

^{3 §237-29.5,} HRS.

Film Industry Tax Advisory December 23, 2022 Page 2 of 4

<u>W-2 Employees</u>: Wages paid by an employer to an employee are *not* subject to GET. However, nonemployee compensation, such as income reported on Form 1099-NEC (formerly Form 1099-MISC), *is* subject to GET.

<u>Relevant Forms</u>: A GET license is obtained from the Department by submitting Form BB-1 with a one-time \$20 payment. GET is reported and remitted by filing periodic returns (Form G-45), followed by filing an annual reconciliation return (Form G-49) after the end of the tax year. Please see the applicable form instructions for a detailed explanation of how to fill out each form as well as information about other forms or schedules that may need to be filed. Forms and instructions can be found on the Department of Taxation website at <u>http://tax.hawaii.gov/forms/</u>.

Taxpayers may register, file and pay GET online through Hawaii Tax Online at <u>http://hitax.hawaii.gov</u>.

INCOME TAX OBLIGATIONS

<u>W-2 Employees</u>: Wages earned while working in Hawaii as an employee are subject to Hawaii income tax, *regardless of residency*. This includes wages earned from performing services in Hawaii.

<u>1099 Independent Contractors and Loan-Out Companies</u>: Income earned from services performed in Hawaii, or from otherwise conducting business as an independent contractor or loan-out company in Hawaii, is likewise subject to Hawaii income tax. Income earned from performing services in Hawaii is subject to income tax *regardless of residency*.

<u>Royalties Exclusion</u>: In certain circumstances, income received as royalties and other income derived from patents, copyrights, and trade secrets is excluded from income tax.⁷

<u>Relevant Forms</u>: Income tax must be reported and remitted on the proper income tax form. For individual taxpayers, residents file Form N-11 and nonresidents or part-year residents file Form N-15. Corporations file Form N-30 and S-Corporations file Form N-35. Partnerships file Form N-20. Multi-member limited liability companies may opt to file either as a corporation on Form N-30 or as a partnership on Form N-20. Please see the applicable form instructions for a detailed explanation of how to fill out each form as well as information about other forms or schedules that may need to be filed. Forms and instructions can be found at the Department of Taxation website at http://tax.hawaii.gov/forms/.

TAX RETURN PENALTIES

The penalty for failure to file a tax return by the deadline is 5% of the unpaid tax per month, up to a maximum of 25%. The penalty for failure to pay the tax within 60 days of timely filing a return is 20% of the unpaid tax. If the failure to pay tax is due to fraud, the penalty is up to 50% of the unpaid tax. The interest on nonpayment of tax or underpayment of tax accrues at a rate of two-thirds of 1% per month.⁸

Film Industry Tax Advisory December 23, 2022 Page 3 of 4

GET WITHHOLDING REQUIRMENTS

Act 217, Session Laws of Hawaii 2022, was signed into law by Governor David Ige on June 27, 2022. As of January 1, 2023, production companies may only claim production costs for payments made to a loan-out company if they withhold and pay over to the State an amount equal to the 4% GET and any applicable county surcharge. Withholding payments must be submitted to the Department of Taxation no later than the twentieth day of the calendar month immediately following the month in which the payment was made to the loan-out company. Any failure to comply with the withholding requirements will result in the production company being liable for the amount of tax required. Production companies may register, file and pay GET withholding online through Hawaii Tax Online at <u>http://hitax.hawaii.gov</u>.

CONTACT A TAX PROFESSIONAL

The Department of Taxation strongly suggests that any person affected by this Tax Advisory contact a tax professional familiar with Hawaii tax laws to assist them with any Hawaii tax issues.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Website: tax.hawaii.gov Email: tax.rules.office@hawaii.gov Telephone: (808) 587-1530 Fax: (808) 587-1584